• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

Stardust | Paperback

Released on 04 October 2007

Author: Neil Gaiman | Format: Paperback

3.0 out of 5 (3 customer reviews) | Write a review

10 used from £2.64

Results 1-5 of 10

Sold by: BritBooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: ***SIMPLY BRIT*** We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 21st Apr - 23rd Apr
BritBooks

£2.64

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: GreenerBooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 21st Apr - 23rd Apr
GreenerBooks

£2.65

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: worldofbooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Average

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: In ACCEPTABLE Condition. Ready for Shipping.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 21st Apr - 23rd Apr
worldofbooks

RRP £7.99 Save £5.30

£2.69

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: worldofbooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Very Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: In VERYGOOD Condition. Ready for Shipping.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 21st Apr - 23rd Apr
worldofbooks

£2.69

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: FTBOOKS

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: We are certain you will be delighted with our high level of customer service. all our books are in 'Good' or better condition and we ship daily from our UK warehouse.

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 21st Apr - 23rd Apr

£2.80

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Results 1-5 of 10

There is a way into Faerie, beyond the fields we know, and it lies in a village called Wall, somewhere in the early Victorian era. Every nine years there is a fair on the other side of the wall, where Faerie sells its wares to the mundane. Farmer Duncan Thorne had his moment of mad love with a witch's bondservant; Tristan, his son, turned up in a basket nine months later. Now Tristan is old enough to fall in love, and promises Victoria a falling star... This is a fairy story in the tradition of George MacDonald and Hope Mirlees; a book of passion and terror and wit which reminds us that Faerie is not a safe place, or a fair one. And at its edges there lurk other stories--Neil Gaiman's work in comics and television has previously shown his capacity to evoke mystery and glorious magic by telling us just enough and no more, but he excels himself here. Charles Vess's illustrations, (Vess collaborated with Gaiman on key episodes of The Sandman), have charm and occasionally more--the stars dance, Pan looms from the forest, a witch queen rides a chariot driven by goats and Tristan journeys by candlelight leagues at a step.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (3 reviews)

 FANTASTIC BOOK

| | See all DrakesFortune's reviews (4)

A county mile better than the film, in the film it misses out key and important events however in the book it includes them. if you like a adventure choose this book. neil gaimen your a legend.

 A really good read.

| | See all spiritandsoul's reviews (30)

This is another book, my eldest son bought me for Christmas. I had seen the movie which I thought was good, but the book is so much better. In the movie they had changed some things and left some important other factors out which are included in the book.

This novel was magical and fun to read, it was the first of this kind I have read. I enjoyed being taken into the world of faerie and reading about unicorns, goblins and witches, and stars ;)

I put this down as a young authors book, from teenage upwards, the reason for this is, there is some sexual reference in the beginning chapters, not much though.

This story is about how a young boy Tristian Thorn, promises to collect a fallen star for his love Victoria Foster, he sets out on his travels as she promised him, his hearts desires if he brings back the star for her. He has to cross the Wall into faerie land, and his adventures begin.

If you like fantasy, you will enjoy this book.

 The book vs the movie

| | See all StumpWeasel's reviews (4)

I read reviews of the book which lead me to believe it would be much better than the film. So far, though I'm enjoying the book, it's not got the wow factor I was hoping for.

Sure, movies are almost never identical to the source material but the movie is only loosely based on the book. There are characters and storylines in the movie which aren't in the book and vice versa. If you're looking for cross-dressing sky pirates don't pick the book (unless they appear in the final two chapters which admittedly I've yet to read).

Personally, I'd choose the film over the book.

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.

AuthorNeil Gaiman
PublisherHeadline Publishing Group (United Kingdom)
Year2007
ISBN9780755337514
FormatPaperback - 224 Pages