• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

Debutantes | Paperback

Released on 02 August 2012

Author: Cora Harrison | Format: Paperback

4.0 out of 5 (2 customer reviews) | Write a review

RRP £6.99

New from £2.69

Also available used from £1.91

Results 1-5 of 16

Sold by: ThePerfectUsedBook

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: EXCELLENT value for money and ready for dispatch. Delivery normally within 2/3 days. Our reputation is built on our Speedy Delivery Service and our Customer Service Team.

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 2nd Jan - 6th Jan

£1.91

Free Delivery

2 SuperPoints

Sold by: AwesomeBooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 2nd Jan - 6th Jan
AwesomeBooks

£2.04

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: BritBooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: ***SIMPLY BRIT*** We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 2nd Jan - 6th Jan
BritBooks

£2.64

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: GreenerBooks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 2nd Jan - 6th Jan
GreenerBooks

£2.65

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Sold by: FTBOOKS

Condition: Used - Very Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: We are certain you will be delighted with our high level of customer service. all our books are in 'Good' or better condition and we ship daily from our UK warehouse.

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 2nd Jan - 6th Jan

£2.80

Free Delivery

3 SuperPoints

Results 1-5 of 16

A gorgeous historical romance, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey


Safety Message:
EU Toy Safety Hazard Warning: No warning: No warning;EU Toy Safety Hazard Warning: Carries minimum age warning: Not suitable for children under 10 years of age

customer Reviews

 Average rating (2 reviews)

 Easy and enjoyable read

| | See all MiaBomBia's reviews (28)

Precisely written and engaging, Cora Harrison has created a novel of romance, parties and secrets in the year of 1923. I believe that Harrison has captured the essence of that era beautifully and has been able to portray it to her readers all the same.

Im going to start by saying what I most enjoyed about this book and it was in fact the character, Rose. For a 12-year-old Harrison has portrayed her to be quite mature and already knows what she wants for a career. Although I admired this, the thing I most enjoyed was the personality of the character and the things she say, she seems very witty and opinionated and this made the book more enjoyable as it brought laughter to the story.

I also thoroughly enjoyed reading about the parties and the dresses the girls wore, the description given created a very real environment, and at one point I did lose myself in the book in a whirl of dresses, dancing and the party lifestyle.

However, if I am honest I was surprised by how good this book actually is because I have previously tried to read one of Cora Harrisons books but was unable to engage with it straight away. Luckily this did now happen with Debutantes and I enjoyed it from the beginning.

A book dedicated to capturing the lifestyle of those in the 1920s, and has succeeded in doing so, an enjoyable read!

 Light summer read

| | See all naomis's reviews (7)

Debutantes is a light and enjoyable read. Set in 1920s England the Derrington sisters each have different personalities and they do not blend together. They all are individual characters with different aspirations. The first book focuses mainly on Daisy who is interesting and hoped to become a film director. Violet hoped to be a debutante and come out for a season in London. Poppy loved jazz and had a band with locals in their town. Rose wanted to be a newspaper editor. They all had dreams of escaping their unglamorous country life and the individual dreams were perfect for their characters. The setting teaches a lot about England in the 1920s and it was clear that the author had researched the era really well. I definitely learnt a bit with this read!
The mystery part of the story was slightly predictable but still entertaining to read. This book is not life changing but perfect for somebody looking for a gentle summer read! One more thing.. The cover is absolutely stunning!

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.

AuthorCora Harrison
PublisherPan Macmillan (GB)
Year2012
ISBN9781447205944
FormatPaperback - 320 Pages
Age Group10 yrs - 99 yrs