• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

A Long Long Way | Paperback (b format)

Released on 06 April 2006

Author: Sebastian Barry | Format: Paperback (b format)

5.0 out of 5 (1 customer review) | Write a review

RRP £7.99

New from £5.59

Also available used from £2.50

Results 1-5 of 15

Sold by: Learnearlybooks

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: Brand new Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 1st Sep - 3rd Sep

RRP £7.99 Save £2.40

£5.59

Free Delivery

6 SuperPoints

Sold by: Wordery | visit our store

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: This copy of "A Long Long Way" is brand new and waiting for you in our UK warehouse. Order before 1.30pm and we'll send it today and it should be with you within 4 working days for UK or 10 working days for EU.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 1st Sep - 3rd Sep
Wordery

£6.09

Free Delivery

7 SuperPoints

Sold by: pbshopatplay | visit our store

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 4 business days. Established seller since 2000

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 1st Sep - 2nd Sep
pbshopatplay

£6.10

Free Delivery

7 SuperPoints

Sold by: BOOKSetc | visit our store

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: BRAND NEW - Delivery usually 3-5 working days after dispatch - dispatched from the UK - From BOOKS etc.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 1st Sep - 3rd Sep
BOOKSetc

£6.74

Free Delivery

7 SuperPoints

Sold by: AphroheadBooks | visit our store

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 1st Sep - 3rd Sep
AphroheadBooks

£7.00

Free Delivery

7 SuperPoints

Results 1-5 of 15

One of the most vivid and realised characters of recent fiction, Willie Dunne is the innocent hero of Sebastian Barry's highly acclaimed novel. Leaving Dublin to fight for the Allied cause as a member of the Royal Dublin Fusiliers, he finds himself caught between the war playing out on foreign fields and that festering at home, waiting to erupt with the Easter Rising. Profoundly moving, intimate and epic, "A Long Long Way" charts and evokes a terrible coming of age, one too often written out of history. Shortlisted for the MAN Booker Prize 2005, this is a gripping novel of the First World War that will appeal to readers of Pat Barker and Sebastian Faulks. A critical and commercial success, "A Long Long Way" has sold over 12,000 copies in trade paperback and was acclaimed by the likes of J. M. Coetzee, Frank McGuinness, Colm Tobin, Hew Strachan and Hugo Hamilton.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (1 review)

 Excellent - one of the best books I've read in years

| | See all bohsboy's reviews (1)

A moving story of unrequited love and divided loyalties amist the horror of WWI and chaos of the 1916 Easter Rising. The book follows the story of Dubliner, Willie Dunne who, at 18 years of age, is not tall enough to follow his father into the police force so he joins the Army to fight in France. While on leave from the war in Dublin the 1916 Rising erupts and he is dispatched to confront the rebels. This is the story of just one of the many thousands of Irish soldiers who fought in WWI and were, sadly, subsequently written out of Irish history. A truly wonderful novel which was justly shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2005. I would recommend this book to anyone.

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.

AuthorSebastian Barry
PublisherFaber and Faber (UK)
Year2006
ISBN9780571218011
Formatpaperback (B format) - 292 Pages