• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

The Kings And Queens of England (3 Discs)

Released on 04 July 2011

Format: DVD | Rating: Exempt from Classification

Write a review

No Listings are available for this product
The Normans & Angevins
Our journey begins at one of the most important and probably best known events in English history; the Norman invasion of Britain and the Battle of Hastings in 1066, it takes us through the reigning monarchs of the next 150 years to 1216 and to the death of King John; the last of the Angevins. Along the way, we are introduced to the four Norman kings; William I, William II, Henry I and finally Stephen, the Angevins follow in 1154 with Henry II, Richard I and the aforementioned King John. Learn about their lives, deaths and the circumstances in which they inherited the throne.

The Middle Ages
We begin the Middle Ages programme with a monarch much ignored by history; King Louis. Short-lived though his reign may be, Louis ruled England in the months between the death of King John and the coronation of Henry III in 1216. The next 183 years were to become known as the Plantagenet period. In 1399 Henry IV came to the throne, he was the first of the Lancastrians; the remaining two being Henry V and Henry VI, who between them ruled until 1461. Although historically the Yorkists ruled from 1461 to 1485, Henry VI was temporarily restored to the throne in 1470 only to be deposed again in 1471.

The Tudors
Although the Tudors reigned from 1485 - 1603 our story begins much earlier, in the year of 1461 with a character called Owen Tudor. Owen was the source from which the Tudor dynasty would eventually spring. 1461 - 1485 saw the Yorkists Edward IV, Edward V and Richard III on the throne, until in 1485 the Tudor reign began with Henry VII. Henry VII was followed in the year 1509 by Henry VIII, who with his six wives takes a very colourful place in history. Then came Edward VI, Mary I and Elizabeth I, along with Lady Jane Grey (the nine day queen) who historically gets very little mention.

The Stuarts
With the death of Elizabeth I, 1603 heralded the beginning of the Stuarts; a royal house that was to last for over one hundred years. Here was a period that would see amongst other events; civil war, a great plague, the fire of London, the abolition and re-introduction of the monarchy and the gunpowder plot. James I and Charles I ruled until 1649 when Parliament took over during an eleven year period which came to be known as the Commonwealth and Protectorate. The monarchy was finally restored in 1660 with the crowning of Charles II.

The Hanoverians
From George I to the accession of Queen Victoria in 1837; the Hanoverians span a period of 123 years. A fairly stable period with five kings, one of whom, (George III) was to be the longest reigning king in British history. We start our visit in 1714, with a German who is 52nd in line to the throne and who became monarch without being able to speak a single word of English! 1727 sees George II come to the thrown; his reign was to last until 1760 when George III's 60 year rule began. George IV was crowned in 1820 followed ten years later by the last of the Hanoverians William IV.

Modern Monarchy
From her accession to the throne in 1837 to her death in 1901, Queen Victoria was to reign for 64 years. In contrast, Edward VII her successor, was to be king for only 10 years. The first of the Windsor's; George V, despite being a German prince was to be monarch throughout the First World War and up to his eventual death in 1936 at the age of 70. 1936 was to see his son and successor Edward VIII abdicated as a result of his love for divorcee Wallace Simpson, in his place his brother Albert was crowned George VI. Albert was the first royal to marry a commoner since Henry VIII.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (0 reviews)

Rate & Review

Be the first to review this product! | Write a review

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.

CertificateExempt from Classification
ScreenFullscreen 1.33:1
LanguagesEnglish - Dolby Digital (2.0) Stereo
Duration4 hours and 30 minutes (approx)
RegionRegion 2 - Will only play on European Region 2 or multi-region DVD players.