Zoom +   |  

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker

Released on 03 May 2003

4.0 out of 5 (7 customer reviews) | Write a review

Return to product information

Customer Reviews

Customer rating on : 4 out of 5 stars  Average rating (7 reviews)

1–8 (of 8)

Sort:

Customer rating: 4 out of 5 stars  A must for all Zelda lovers and non..

nazgul  |  05/01/2008  |  See all nazgul's reviews (7) »

when i first started playing this game i got a bit confused. i played all the Zelda games before this and i left this one for last.
Ocarina of Time is fantastic and there are plenty of reasons why this was rated best game of all time. Twilight Princess is very long quest, has very nice graphics and presents an adult Link. It was the best way to launch the Wii and "end" the era of the Gamecube.
The windwaker presents a cartoonish style Zelda, but do not think that its only a kid's game. Everyone would enjoy the cell shaded Zelda and the graphics are wonderful for you get immersed in this adventure.
THe combat system is really absorbing and some of the boss battles are really atmospheric. The game in itself is not that long, despite the enormous amount of time sailing from one place to another.
However i think that this is an excellent RPG, you meet new people, or creatures, explore a variety of dungeons, searh for treasures and help other persons throughout this quest.

Story:9
Gameplay:9
Sound:8
Graphics: 8.5
Replay value: 6

As i have already stated, it is a must have for any Zelda fan, and for Non.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  great game

ollieboi  |  23/03/2008  |  See all ollieboi's reviews (6) »

i don't actully have thi game but me and my freind completed it together and it is so much fun even hough when start sailing the wind can getanoying but apart from tht it is great!

Customer rating: 4 out of 5 stars  An Underrated Entry in the Zelda Series

deanlowdon  |  14/07/2011  |  See all deanlowdon's reviews (468) »

The Legend of Zelda franchise is highly regarded in gaming circles with the Ocarina of Time regularly featuring near the top of 'Best Ever Game' lists. As a result The Wind Waker had a lot to live up to on release, fortunately Nintendo have yet again delivered.

Taking place 100 years after the classic N64 title The Wind Waker is arguably the most epic in the series to date. The game starts on Link's birthday as he is given the famous green outfit that every boy receives upon reaching a certain age. Before the celebrations are over however his sister is kidnapped and thus begins his quest. Players will soon notice that Hyrule has changed greatly in the past 100 years and following a great flood everyone is forced to travel by boat. Despite this the play mechanics are similar to its N64 predecessors with the islands dotted around the world acting as the usual dungeons with puzzles to solve and enemies to defeat.

Some of these dungeons are perhaps a little similar but a number of minor tweaks and improvements help to differentiate the game from others in the series. Control of Link is now far more intuitive and every action can be executed with a level of precision that even most modern games cannot match with the Gamecubes C-Stick now allowing for manual control of the camera helping to alleviate any line of sight problems. Combat is also improved with enemies offering visual clues as to their next attack allowing the player to react with cinematic attacks if they time there moves correctly.

A sense of scale is maintained throughout the game with players being able to travel virtually anyway right from the get go with only few areas being inaccessible for plot reasons. Travelling across the seas in your boat is for the most part an enjoyable experience with random enemy encounters keeping you on your toes. Strangely it is the Wind Waker instrument itself that is the biggest annoyance. Playing it changes the direction of the wind allowing link to sail in the desired direction but an animation sequence, that cannot be skipped, means this takes far longer than necessary and can be particularly irritating when you need to change direction two or three times to reach your destination.

In it easy to forget any minor problems however when given over twenty hours of gameplay and the best graphics of any game on the console (or most other consoles for that matter). The Wind Waker is an underrated gem in the Zelda series and well worth picking up on the Gamecube or Wii console.

Customer rating: 4 out of 5 stars  An Underrated Entry in the Zelda Series

drlowdon  |  14/07/2011  |  See all drlowdon's reviews (468) »

The Legend of Zelda franchise is highly regarded in gaming circles with the Ocarina of Time regularly featuring near the top of 'Best Ever Game' lists. As a result The Wind Waker had a lot to live up to on release, fortunately Nintendo have yet again delivered.

Taking place 100 years after the classic N64 title The Wind Waker is arguably the most epic in the series to date. The game starts on Link's birthday as he is given the famous green outfit that every boy receives upon reaching a certain age. Before the celebrations are over however his sister is kidnapped and thus begins his quest. Players will soon notice that Hyrule has changed greatly in the past 100 years and following a great flood everyone is forced to travel by boat. Despite this the play mechanics are similar to its N64 predecessors with the islands dotted around the world acting as the usual dungeons with puzzles to solve and enemies to defeat.

Some of these dungeons are perhaps a little similar but a number of minor tweaks and improvements help to differentiate the game from others in the series. Control of Link is now far more intuitive and every action can be executed with a level of precision that even most modern games cannot match with the Gamecubes C-Stick now allowing for manual control of the camera helping to alleviate any line of sight problems. Combat is also improved with enemies offering visual clues as to their next attack allowing the player to react with cinematic attacks if they time there moves correctly.

A sense of scale is maintained throughout the game with players being able to travel virtually anyway right from the get go with only few areas being inaccessible for plot reasons. Travelling across the seas in your boat is for the most part an enjoyable experience with random enemy encounters keeping you on your toes. Strangely it is the Wind Waker instrument itself that is the biggest annoyance. Playing it changes the direction of the wind allowing link to sail in the desired direction but an animation sequence, that cannot be skipped, means this takes far longer than necessary and can be particularly irritating when you need to change direction two or three times to reach your destination.

In it easy to forget any minor problems however when given over twenty hours of gameplay and the best graphics of any game on the console (or most other consoles for that matter). The Wind Waker is an underrated gem in the Zelda series and well worth picking up on the Gamecube or Wii console.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Fantastic gaming!

NintendooGirll  |  01/01/2008  |  See all NintendooGirll's reviews (4) »

This game is really addictive and provides plenty of brilliant puzzles to confuse the mind. It has tons of new characters and brightens up the legend of Zelda series with its bright, attentive cartoon style. The music is great and and the gameplay is brilliant. Great game by nintendo.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Exceptional

smileitsjenny  |  17/04/2009  |  See all smileitsjenny's reviews (38) »

this was a great game. I love zelda and was not disappointed. At first it was weird seeing him as a cartoon character, but after a while, i got used to it and it was brilliat. I loved the storyline and the puzzles were hard but addictive. I love the music and there were loads of new and different items that you collected along the way.

There aren't really any negative things along the way except maybe it van get annoying sailing to different islands but the game is huge.

A must have for all zelda fans!!

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Brilliant

Shmozy  |  01/01/2008  |  See all Shmozy's reviews (15) »

when i originally saw the graphics,, i knew we were in for something special

the games graphics make this fantastic, once again blends puzzles and fun in brilliantly, Great final Boss fight again,

Another brilliant Zelda Game

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Spilt the fans in two! ... I LOVED IT!!!!

jessie2502  |  14/12/2007  |  See all jessie2502's reviews (2) »

when this game first came out, i wasnt keen (due to the new colourful graphics) However after a year of staying well clear of the game, i decided to give it ago. After the first hour or so i became hooked, not only is the music great but the game has a great story to it with new characters! So dont be put off with the cartoon style, YOU'LL be shocked with how long you've been missing out!!

1–8 (of 8)