Zoom +   |  

Metroid Prime

Released on 21 March 2003

5.0 out of 5 (9 customer reviews) | Write a review

Return to product information

Customer Reviews

Customer rating on : 5 out of 5 stars  Average rating (9 reviews)

1–10 (of 10)

Sort:

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Metroid life

Nintyaddict  |  30/06/2007  |  See all Nintyaddict's reviews (11) »

The first Metroid game I've ever played was super Metroid, and it was amazing, and later on in life when this game came out, it just hit me the music in the game is so fantastic, Phendrena drifts is one of the music, and I understood the story line, this game is a must have, but I didn't buy the game from play.com I had the game for 4 years and still love it, I'm a Nintendo fan.

Customer rating: 4 out of 5 stars  Metroid Prime

Maturai  |  27/06/2007  |  See all Maturai's reviews (16) »

Everyone raves about this game. They are right to the effects are amazing, its an epic game but i want story line in my games i want to see relationships form but this didnt really offer that, if it did i would give it 5 stars

Customer rating: 4 out of 5 stars  A Perfect Example of How to Update a Classic Franchise

drlowdon  |  27/06/2011  |  See all drlowdon's reviews (468) »

The long running Metroid series has been highly regarded amongst gamers for two decades and this update continues the trend of providing quality gaming. In much the same way that Ocarina of Time translated the Zelda series into 3D whilst retaining the series uniqueness Retro Studios have taken the 2D formula of previous instalments to the next level.

Metroid Prime is an action/adventure game that is unusually played from a first-person perspective that takes place just after the original Metroid on the NES. The game opens with bounty hunter Samus Aran on the trail of space pirates intent on using a substance known as Phazon to create a genetically engineered army capable of taking over the galaxy. Following an explosion in which she narrowly escapes with her life she finds herself trapped on an eerie and isolated planet without many of her abilities.

Once on the planet the gameplay itself also follows the template laid down by the 2D iterations. The focus is largely on exploring the massive, uncharted world around you. As you do you gradually regain abilities such as the Morph Ball and Dash Boots that allows access to previously inaccessible areas that provide teasing hints as to the planets history. With useful signposting along the way it is only rarely that this exploration can become frustrating.

Combat itself also takes inspiration from Ocarina of Time. A simple lock-on mechanic allows the player to target individual enemies and removes the need for twin analogue controls. Once targeted enemies can be blasted with a variety of weapons although many are weaker or stronger against certain types.

With is superb graphics and haunting score Metroid Prime became an instant classic on release and remains amongst the best games of its generation.

Customer rating: 4 out of 5 stars  A Perfect Example of How to Update a Classic Franchise

deanlowdon  |  27/06/2011  |  See all deanlowdon's reviews (468) »

The long running Metroid series has been highly regarded amongst gamers for two decades and this update continues the trend of providing quality gaming. In much the same way that Ocarina of Time translated the Zelda series into 3D whilst retaining the series uniqueness Retro Studios have taken the 2D formula of previous instalments to the next level.

Metroid Prime is an action/adventure game that is unusually played from a first-person perspective that takes place just after the original Metroid on the NES. The game opens with bounty hunter Samus Aran on the trail of space pirates intent on using a substance known as Phazon to create a genetically engineered army capable of taking over the galaxy. Following an explosion in which she narrowly escapes with her life she finds herself trapped on an eerie and isolated planet without many of her abilities.

Once on the planet the gameplay itself also follows the template laid down by the 2D iterations. The focus is largely on exploring the massive, uncharted world around you. As you do you gradually regain abilities such as the Morph Ball and Dash Boots that allows access to previously inaccessible areas that provide teasing hints as to the planets history. With useful signposting along the way it is only rarely that this exploration can become frustrating.

Combat itself also takes inspiration from Ocarina of Time. A simple lock-on mechanic allows the player to target individual enemies and removes the need for twin analogue controls. Once targeted enemies can be blasted with a variety of weapons although many are weaker or stronger against certain types.

With is superb graphics and haunting score Metroid Prime became an instant classic on release and remains amongst the best games of its generation.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  One of the best games ever made

leepatsy  |  31/03/2008  |  See all leepatsy's reviews (51) »

The first Metroid game i ever played was Super Metroid for the super nintendo and it really was a great game. However, there was no Metroid game for the N64 so it was quite a few years before Metroid Prime finally came out on the gamecube and it really was worth the wait. The Huge amount of extra power the Gamecube had over the N64 was put to brilliant use in creating metroid Prime. Its got to be one of the most intense and immersive game ive ever experianced. From the opening level on the space station to the moment your spaceship lands on planet Talon where your mission begins the atmosphere is amazing. The music and sound effects make you feel like your on a strange alien planet and the graphics are some of the best ever done on the cube with effects like rain and condensation hitting your visor. The weapons are also amazing with some awesome power ups to be obtained as you explore the maze like maps. Each new power beam you aquire has a strength that will be most effective against certain boss fights and some boss fight require the player to change weapon during the battle which is made quite easy to do with the amazing controls and Gamecube controller. The boss fights are easily the best boss fights i have ever experiance in any game and although they are tough and intense you end up feeling really proud and a strong sense of releif that its over. It makes the game an improvement in my opinion because the boss fights in super metriod were to easy but in this game they can really make you work for your new weapon. I cant really think of any bad points about this game and can only rate it as a masterpiece of a game. However if your not tough enough or your not much of a hardcore gamer then you may find the boss fights a bit hard. But if your determined to beat them and you get good enough on the controls you will soon begin to get used to the attack patterns that the boss enemies use against you. I highly reccomend this game to anyone. The sequel is just as good.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  A Classic

spazizoner  |  05/01/2008  |  See all spazizoner's reviews (1) »

Everything from the soundtrack, to the tiniest of graphical details, strikes me as a work of art. Every aspect of the game seems so well thought out, with pure, unrushed creativity being poured into it.

There are numerous levels of the world to explore, each with their own unique items and creatures, all of which are scan-able, using Samus' scan visor.

There are plenty of power ups and addons to find for Samus' suit, and there's an array of challenging opponents to test your mettle against, so you won't ever go bored for long.

The graphics are top-notch. Everything shines and looks like it could actually be real. Loads of fun can be had with the different visors that are acquirable, and the beam weapons fire beautiful colourful blasts of energy, that illuminate their surroundings.

The sound effects are good. Nothing is repetitive, or over done. Everything is done just right. The music is well composed, setting the mood for various parts of the game; boss battles are accompanied with fast paced heavy music, whilst casual exploring is accompanied by soothing ambient beats.

The controls are good. The primary method of fighting enemies is through a lock-on targeting system, but manual aiming is also possible, if there's nothing to lock onto.

Story-wise, if you're willing to read through the vast Space-Pirate logs, and Chozo Lore inscriptions that are scattered throughout the environment, then the story can become quite interesting. If you're like me, you'll find yourself hungering for more things to read, to find out what happens next. If you don't like reading, then you'll probably miss out on a lot of vital information throughout the game. There's no dialogue, apart from the occasional warning or piece of information relayed by your suit warning system.

All in all, Metroid Prime is a stunning game. The only flaw I could think of, is that there's not enough of it! Although the game is quite long, you'll wish there could've been more. But that's where the sequels come in.

A must-have for any Gamecube owner.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Best gamecube game EVER

Jonnyboy1111111111  |  15/04/2011  |  See all Jonnyboy1111111111's reviews (1) »

Better than echoes coz of the beam system rather than having limited ammo for everything. Epic game in general. I love it.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  One of the best ever

Klodrik  |  03/03/2011  |  See all Klodrik's reviews (14) »

If you own a Wii or a Gamecube and you haven't used it to play this game then please, slap yourself in the face, say "silly me" and order it!
The game is still a great experience and in my humble opinion it might be the greatest game of all time. Yeah, it's that good.

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  Amazing

daza90  |  03/05/2008  |  See all daza90's reviews (8) »

First metroid game to go 3D and personaly the i think its the best one in the prime series just above Prime 3. great game buy it if you havnt already

Customer rating: 5 out of 5 stars  great

sodgey  |  27/01/2012  |  See all sodgey's reviews (24) »

was looking high and low for this game, and couldn't believe my luck when I found it for a great price with free delivery on play.com.

1–10 (of 10)