• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

Product Reviews

2 (100% helpful)

Page 1 of 0

  1.  Also,


    Add For All The Cows, Hey! Johnny Park, I'll Stick Around, Generator and Gimme Stitches to that list.

  2. Farm


    Dinosaur Jr. - CD

    1 New from  £17.91  Free delivery

    Available  used  from  £4.00



    Alterna-grunge veterans Dinosaur Jr extend their comeback to bring you Farm - a melodic monster clocking in at over an hour. But Farm is a brilliant monster. There are no bad songs here. From the hard riffing of opener 'Pieces', through the sprawling guitar of 'Plans' to the Alice In Chains-esque closer 'Imagination Blind', Dinosaur Jr play their hearts out. Any reputation of self-important slackerdom is shattered by the energy put into Farm, an album which stands among the best the band or the genre has produced. The musicianship flaunted by Dinosaur Jr, alongside world-class song-writing and J Mascis' tender vocals make it a great album, and one definitely worth checking out.

    However - there have been some inconsistencies between volume levels on US and European versions of the album. Replacements are available from the band's record label if the one you receive is not top quality, and the problem is explained in full on the band's official website.

  3.  Technicolour brilliance.


    Over the last two decades the Flaming Lips have earned a reputation as one of the world's most exciting live acts. This CD/DVD set confirms it.

    The live recordings are brilliant - a great set-list is complimented by top-notch musicianship and the songs are played with effortless energy and grace. Highlights include a synthtastic Yoshimi part 2 and an uplifting She Don't Use Jelly.

    But to really appreciate the live show, you need to watch the DVD. The stagecraft is awe inspiring and the effort the band put into the show will put others to shame.

    The only downside to U.F.Os at the Zoo is frontman Wayne Coyne's tendency to talk to the audience a fraction much, which makes the live album drag. Of course, everyone enjoys banter from the band, but separate 3 minute tracks of just speech are detrimental to the album as a whole.

    A solid live album though, and one definitely worth checking out.