• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

The Black Swan

Released on 18 September 2006

Artist: Bert Jansch

4.0 out of 5 (1 customer review) | Write a review

New from £8.08

Also available used from £6.78

Results 1-1 of 1

Sold by: zoverstocks | visit our store

Condition: Used - Very Good

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 28th Aug - 1st Sep


Free Delivery

7 SuperPoints

Results 1-1 of 1

  1. Black Swan
  2. High Days
  3. When The Sun Comes Up - Jansch, Bert & Beth Orton
  4. Katie Cruel - Jansch, Bert & Beth Orton/Devendra Banhart
  5. My Pocket's Empty
  6. Watch The Stars - Jansch, Bert & Beth Orton
  7. Woman Like You
  8. Old Triangle
  9. Bring Your Religion
  10. Texas Cowboy Blues
  11. Magdalina's Dance
  12. Hey Pretty Girl
  • After over forty years in the business, the cult Brit folk artist hailed as a seminal influence by many of today's rock and folk stars returns with this first album for Sanctuary. Hailed in the music press as "a phenomenal achievement" and "his strongest album in years", this set exhibits the trademark dark, brooding and intricate compositions for which he is justly famed. Produced by Noah Georgeson (Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom), it features guest spots from Jansch acolytes Banhart and Beth Orton.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (1 review)

 Well done Bert! A great album, if not quite a classic.

| | See all CaptainCumberland's reviews (9)

I've been a fan of Bert Jansch for around 12 or 13 years now, after discovering him very suddenly when given a spare ticket and an invite to one of his live shows in the North of England - I'd heard the name but never the music, and it was a bit of revelation!

Jansch has a style all his own - his guitar work is broken and nevertheless full, full of dazzling runs, hammers and chiming stops (as a semi-professional Jazz guitarist I can assure you of his tremendous skill!). His harmonies and resolutions are unique, and his voice is better described as beautiful than pretty - the fact that he makes it work is testament to his great musical powers!

This album marks a step further into the country influences that have appeared more and more in his work over the years - there is some great slide guitar and some lovely "pickin'" here, and although it doesn't always quite work, this is a soulful and sad album that still leaves you with a great faith in life and love. The lyrics are not always profound, but they are genuine without fail, and always pure Jansch.

The collaboration with Beth Orton is a little disappointing at times - the vocal harmonies they produce together are great, and Beth's voice suits much of the material, but at times it all feels a little too amateur - "Watch the Stars" is a very weak track, and it feels like they only included it because they wanted to sing together, not because it's a worthy inclusion. On the other hand "When The Sun Comes Up" shows Orton at her best, and is one of the standout tracks.

This is one of the best albums from Bert in recent years in my opinion - stripped back to the musical basics that set him apart. The title track is superb, and "Bring Your Religion" is a personal favourite. As usual, the best tracks are those where Bert simply sings and plays his guitar, and the tracks with lots of other instrumentation seldom come close for real feeling - "Texas Cowboy Blues" is a perfect example, very well performed but over-complicated and lacking any atmosphere.

Overall this is a cracking album, and I would highly recommend it to Jansch fans. Those unfamiliar with his work would be better to start elsewhere I think.

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.