• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

Against The Clock (2CD)

Released on 01 January 2007

Artist: Allan Holdsworth

5.0 out of 5 (1 customer review) | Write a review

New from £20.28

Results 1-3 of 3

Sold by: moviemars | visit our store

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: BRAND NEW items direct from the USA. Please allow 12 to 20 business days for delivery. Please check the region code specified on the listing to see if this item will play for you. CDs do not have a region code and can be played worldwide.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 13th Aug - 19th Aug


Free Delivery

21 SuperPoints

Sold by: AllYourMusic | visit our store

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: All our items are brand new. 10 - 21 days estimated delivery. Our customer service is multilingual for your convenience and we offer Royal Mail Freepost Service available for qualifying returns.

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 13th Aug - 19th Aug


Free Delivery

27 SuperPoints

Sold by: Hokayukay

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: BRAND NEW. Dispatched within 5 business days via 1st class post.

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 4th Aug - 6th Aug


Free Delivery

28 SuperPoints

Results 1-3 of 3

Disc 1

  1. Tokyo Dream (Japan Version)
  2. Sphere Of Innocence
  3. Rukuhka
  4. Low Levels High Stakes
  5. How Deep Is The Ocean
  6. Nuages
  7. Devil Take The Hindmost
  8. Home
  9. Peril Premonition
  10. The Sixteen Men Of Tain
  11. Mr Berwell
  12. Looking Glass
  13. Pud Wud

Disc 2

  1. Spokes
  2. Distance vs. Desire
  3. MacMan
  4. Against The Clock
  5. Eeny Meeny
  6. Secrets
  7. Bo Peep
  8. Postlude
  9. All Our Yesterdays
  10. Eidolon
  11. Sundays
  12. Let's Throw Shrimp (Previously unreleased bonus track)
  13. Shenandoah (Previously unreleased bonus track)

customer Reviews

 Average rating (1 review)

 A collection of guitar genius beyond compare.

| | See all apopheniac's reviews (16)

You may never have heard of him, but Allan Holdsworth is one of the most influential guitarists of modern times. He's cited as hero or genius by the likes of Pat Metheny, John McLaughlin, Joe Satriani, and Eddie Van Halen to name just a few. Many guitarists attempt to copy his sound and fluid style, but they seldom even come close. If you play guitar and want to find out what complete mastery sounds like, buy this CD. I can't recommend this album highly enough.

This collection presents two sides of his work with tracks selected by Holdworth himself; the first CD concentrates on music made with electric guitar, showing off his unique sound to full effect. It'll soon become clear that Holdsworth arrangements are something special, with a chordal approach that outclasses most other modern guitarists and a soloing style which rapidly leaves everyone else in the dust.

The second CD is a selection of his work using the Synthaxe - a guitar controller for MIDI synthesisers that he's since retired (because he admits it's now mainly held together with gaffa tape). The technology allowed him to create an amazing variety of sounds which enhance his music and make it something truly special.

Holdsworth completists will of course want to buy the album for the extra tracks which appear - "Let's throw shrimp" and "Shenandoah." They're worth the price of the album on their own. Click that "buy" button now!

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.