• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help




Released on 15 April 2013

Artist: Yeah Yeah Yeah's

(2 customer reviews)  |  Write a review

Condition:  New

In stock Shipping now

£10.61 Free delivery

Earn 11 SuperPoints What are SuperPoints?

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 8th Jan - 14th Jan

Comment:Shipped direct from the USA. Please allow 8 to 12 business days for delivery. *Duties may be applicable*

  1. Sacrilege
  2. Subway
  3. Mosquito
  4. Under The Earth
  5. Slave
  6. These Paths
  7. Area 52
  8. Buried Alive
  9. Always
  10. Despair
  11. Wedding Song

customer Reviews

 Average rating (2 reviews)

 As always, a unique and different sound from the YYYs!

| | See all Craifo's reviews (1)

If you're expecting the album to mimic the last - don't!

In the usual YYY flare, the album is very different to the last; It's Blitz was a glam disco soulful wordy epic album with dreamy this and tempo that.
This contains the raw edge of Fever To Tell, has instrumental anthems like those on Show Your Bones and includes a down-tempo uplifting disco beat in one or two tracks too.

My favourite songs by FAR are
Sacrilege (gospel backing choir and lily cole in the vid - OBZ winner!)
Mosquito (sounds very much like Fever To Tell youthful screamage)
Despair (pure anthem with a brilliant instrumental build-up and infectious chanty tune!)
Slave - absolute fave. This is down right dirty and needs to be played on loud to hear the amazing guitar work its magic.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy it as I am a die-hard YYY fan. Granted it may not be as pretentious as it's previous albums, but remember how they started - raw, edgy, sweaty, screams-a-go-go... Glad to see some of this injected into a different sound.

 2 steps forward 3 steps back

| | See all priceade's reviews (8)

Not sure if I was expecting too much, but after It's Blitz this lacks its infectiousness and drive, and doesn't have the bite or energy of their earlier albums. This seems written with the charts in mind, rather than making what they want and like.
That said YYY at their weakest still makes for an above average album, but only compared to who else is out there making music, but in their own history this is their weakest album. Karen O's voice seems to have been dialed down, as has the force of nature that has been the band at their previous best. Still catchy but that isn't a word I ever wanted to use describing them. Hence the 3 stars. Lacklustre too. If you are new to YYY then start at the beginning and work through their albums, if you have been away for a while then It's Blitz is a better return, and my favorite. NOT BAD BUT DEFINITELY NOT GREAT.