• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

22 Dreams

Released on 02 June 2008

Artist: Paul Weller

4.0 out of 5 (12 customer reviews) | Write a review

New from £9.00

Also available used from £1.30

Results 1-1 of 1

Sold by: EilEsprit

Condition: New

In stock | Shipping now

Comment: PAUL WELLER 22 Dreams (2008 UK CD album - Recorded over the course of a year at Pauls own Black Barn Studios in Surrey 22 Dreams is a 21-track kaleidoscopic tour de force incorporating rock funk soul free jazz krautrock classical spokenword electronica and all stops in between; with guest appearances from Noel Gallagher & Gem Archer [Oasis] Little Barrie and Graham Coxon; and includes the AA-side single Have You Made Up Your Mind / Echoes Round The Sun)

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 11th Mar - 13th Mar


Free Delivery

9 SuperPoints

Results 1-1 of 1

  1. Light Nights
  2. 22 Dreams
  3. All I Wanna Do (Is Be With You)
  4. Have You Made Up Your Mind
  5. Empty Ring
  6. Invisible
  7. Song For Alice
  8. Cold Moments
  9. The Dark Pages Of September Lead To The New Leaves Of Spring
  10. Black River
  11. Why Walk When You Can Run
  12. Push It Along
  13. A Dream Reprise
  14. Echoes Round The Sun
  15. One Bright Star
  16. Lullaby Fur Kinder
  17. Where'r Ye Go
  18. God
  19. 111
  20. Sea Spray
  21. Night Lights
  • '22 Dreams' is the ninth studio album from "The Modfather" Paul Weller. Recorded at Weller's Black Barn Studios in Surrey and produced by Simon Dine and Weller himself, the album is a mix of classic British indie rock that takes inspiration from Weller's three decades of musical output. Guest appearances come from the likes of Oasis' Noel Gallagher and Gem Archer, Ocean Colour Scene's Steve Cradock and ex-Blur guitarist Graham Coxon. The double A side single 'Have You Made Your Mind Up/Echoes Around The Sun' is included.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (12 reviews)


| | See all JMTYoda's reviews (10)

Of all the many things Paul Weller has done in his career, he has somehow managed to survive three decades without a double album to his credit. 22 Dreams rectifies that wrong, offering a luxurious sprawl that's proudly, staunchly classicist, just like Weller's solo career itself. Weller's embrace of rock & roll tradition might suggest that he has taken his double album as an opportunity to offer a summation of his career, to summarize where he's been and perhaps where he's going. Tempting though this may be, especially given the record's elastic, elegant eclecticism, this isn't quite a self-conscious summation, nor is it quite a risk-taking tour de force in the vein of the White Album, even though this encompasses everything from fragile folk to the resurrection of the sophisticated collegiate jazz of the Style Council. Instead, 22 Dreams has a floating romantic quality that justifies the dreams of the title, drifting from sound to sound, sometimes taking elaborate detours, sometimes stopping for a brief picturesque sideshow. In some ways, it's the flip of the piledriving As Is Now, where Weller indulged in harder inclinations, as this finds Weller exploring his softer side, often in ways he hasn't quite done before. There's still a crustiness to Weller -- he'll get sensitive, but he won't get sappy -- but there's an openness to 22 Dreams, in how he eases into a Curtis Mayfield homage as comfortably as he pays tribute to Alice Coltrane with Robert Wyatt in tow. Wyatt isn't the only guest here, either, as Weller expands his core band -- without leaving right-hand man guitarist Steve Craddock -- with cameos by Graham Coxon and Noel Gallagher (only he could unite these Brit-pop foes), the latter collaborating on a thick, hazy psychedelic "Echoes Round the Sun." This is about as dense as 22 Dreams gets, as it has a lighter touch, so graceful that it can disguise the number of styles Weller touches upon here, as he skips from electronica and pastoral jams lingering from Wild Wood to jazz and soul. Initially, this doesn't sound radical -- it is recognizably of a piece with his solo work, fitting neatly alongside either Stanley Road or Illumination -- but more listens reveal just how finely textured and woven this tapestry is. And although it shares superficial sonic similarities with his other records, 22 Dreams is really unlike any of Weller's other albums, as it's rich in sound and feeling, possessing a shimmering dreamy quality. It's an album to get lost in.

 Best Weller album in a decade

| | See all BKG1984's reviews (26)

Absoloutly stunning album.

Best album since stanley road. Every tune is top class and even the instrumentals fall into place. A must for fans or curious brit pop fans.

 Great Music

| | See all jbstar's reviews (3)

Put this guy in a genre at your peril. A fantastic piece of work. You can hear something from nearly every musical place hes been in the past 20 odd years. The acoustic, is just that and the rock rocks.


| | See all Loulou68's reviews (2)

I was gobsmacked and excited when I listened to this album for the first time. It's very different to anything he's done before and might not be to 'classic' Weller fans taste. He is a very clever musician and could so easily ride on the waves of past sounds and successes - not this man, he's reinvented himself again and produced an amazing sounding album. I think this one could be hard to top, it's got to be one of the best yet and I never thought he'd be able to outdo Stanley Road! WRONG!

 A Must

| | See all 1dando's reviews (1)

Another classic from the modfather. Very different, almost eastern sounding at times but in some strange way it works!

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.