• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help



The Doomsday Machine

Released on 22 August 2005

Artist: Arch Enemy

(1 customer reviews)  |  Write a review

Condition:  New

In stock Shipping now

£10.89 Free delivery

Earn 11 SuperPoints What are SuperPoints?

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 13th Mar - 19th Mar

Comment:Brand New Product! Average delivery time 10-14 business days. Great, multilingual customer service.

  1. Enter The Machine
  2. Taking Back My Soul
  3. Nemesis
  4. My Apocalyose
  5. Carry The Cross
  6. I Am Legend / Out For Blood
  7. Skeletan Dance
  8. Hybrids Of Steel
  9. Mechanic God Creation
  10. Machtkampf
  11. Slaves Of Yesterday

customer Reviews

 Average rating (1 review)

 Female-Fronted Thrash/Death Metal for the Masses

| | See all Fleedleflump's reviews (58)

Top 100  Reviewer Top 100 Games Reviewer Top 100 Music Reviewer Top 10 Books Reviewer

Every since Angela Gossow took over on lead vocals from Arch Enemy's previous (male) singer, the band has gone from strength to strength. There is undeniably a novelty value to having a female singer in a thrash/death metal band, but that's only one thing that sets them apart. Add to this that they seem to have bridged a seemingly insurmountable gap and almost invented the genre of pop-death metal, and they start to look truly unique.

Ms Gossow doesn't so much sing as violently assault her lyrics with a verve and ferocity unmatched by most similar bands. Her growl is deep and menacing, all the more so coming from her not unattractive female form, and despite the chosen genre, she keeps a musical leash firmly attached to her vocals, never letting them get away from the tune accompanying them. The only singer who comes close for me is Tarrie B (from My Ruin and Tura Satana), but the style is slightly different so they are not a great comparison.

The Doomsday Machine is definitely Arch Enemy's best album. It's an exciting, thrill-packed collection of loud, heavy, and yet amazingly catchy songs, exemplified by the opening track Taking Back My Soul and the marvellous single Nemesis. Other highlights are Carry The Cross and Mechanic God Creation.

The drumming is astonishing, the speed impressive across the board, and the main factor that makes this a better album than the previous (also very good) Anthems of Rebellion is consistency; there's barely a weak track in evidence here, whereas that album was a raft of big hits and big misses.

So, if you've even half an ear for the heavier side of rock/metal, and you like to see how far female vocals can be pushed, check out this album, and enjoy!