• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help

Folie A Deux (Deluxe Edition Digipack)

Released on 15 December 2008

Artist: Fall Out Boy

5.0 out of 5 (4 customer reviews) | Write a review

No Listings are available for this product
  1. Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes
  2. I Don't Care
  3. She's My Winona
  4. America's Suitehearts
  5. Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On A Bad Bet
  6. The (Shipped) Gold Standard
  7. (Coffee's For Closers)
  8. What A Catch, Donnie
  9. 27
  10. Tiffany Blews
  11. W.A.M.S.
  12. 20 Dollar Nose Bleed
  13. West Coast Smoker
  14. I Don't Care (Machine Shop Remix)
  15. America's Suitehearts (South Rakkas Remix)
  16. Pavlove
  17. America's Suitehearts (Acoustic)
  18. What A Catch, Donnie (Acoustic)
  19. Beat It (Bonus Track)

Play.com Review

American pop-rockers Fall Out Boy make a rapturous return with their fifth full-length studio album, Folie a Deux. Containing only traces of the commercial punk sensibility that laced their previous release, Infinity on High, this roaring release sees Fall Out Boy develop a new rock sound that is brimming with '80s inspired riffs and contagious choruses.

Folie a Deux leaps joyfully between a blend of pleasing pop punk to grandiose epics. Delving deep in to the politics of the heart and mind, Pete Wentz takes the songwriting reigns to explore decaying relationships and societal shortcomings with lyrics that command the presence of lead singer Patrick Stump's distinctive vocals. While 'American Suitehearts' is a strutting tongue in cheek pop swipe at narcissism that bares resemblance to their catchy early hit, 'Sugar, We're Goin Down', the opening stomper 'Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes' is a crazed rock chant that is grand in proportion. With suave precision, 'Tiffany Blews' throws itself entirely into '80s new romanticism. It is a pseudo club track that sees one of rap's hottest stars, Lil Wayne, offering guest vocals. Folie a Deux is littered with star collaborations: while Blondie superstar Debbie Harry offers vocals on the sleek 'West Coast Smoker' and Pharrell Williams lends his expertise on the double-bass filled 'w.a.m.s.', the overblown piano ballad, 'What A Catch, Donnie', has guest appearances from Panic At The Disco frontman Brendon Urie and Gym Class Heroes' Travis McCoy alongside rock veteran Elvis Costello who sings the re-emerging hook from earlier track, 'Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On A Bad Bet'. The upbeat tracks of 'She's My Winona' and '27' strut with experimental rock sounds: drummer Andrew Hurley pounds out taut marching beats, Joseph Trohman laces the tracks with lush guitarwork to construct Fall Out Boy's unmistakable sound.

Fall Out Boy have always shown a willingness to be creative and experiment in order to expand their sound to achieve greater results and Folie a Deux sees them take their largest risk yet. Introducing a wider range of sounds and instrumentation including orchestral and choral arrangements, Fall Out Boy have removed some of the standard punk elements of previous releases to produce their brightest and stylistically mature album to date.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (4 reviews)


| | See all luckydip28's reviews (17)

This review may be a bit biased because i love fallout boy but this album is immense! Its a bit different to their last release (infinity on high) but it is still awesome. I can't wait to see em in march at the 02. Its gonna kick ass!!!


| | See all timmyd10's reviews (1)

This album is just amazing. Fall Out Boy have done it again. Lots of catchy tunes that you can sing along to after just a few listens.
I would recommend this album to anybody who likes fall out boy, who've never heard of them and anybody that just wants something new. So pretty much everybody.
Just an awesome album!!


| | See all josn33's reviews (11)

Well as my title says i love this album, i bought the deluxe edition because i wanted the extra songs and believe me i wasn't disappointed. Fall Out Boy are actually amazing, i love all the songs on this album but my favourites have to be Tiffany Blews, I Don't Care, Americas Suitehearts, America's Suitehearts (South Rakkas Remix),Pavlove, Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes, What A Catch,Donnie and The (Shipped) Gold Standard. Also the acoustic versions are great. Also I like how they have other great artists singing in some of the songs.
So if you haven't got Folie A Deux yet, you are really missing out on something amazing!! :)

 Changing Once Again...

| | See all TigerAlex's reviews (1)

This album has taken Fall Out Boy, in my opinion, to another level.
In short, if you liked 'Take This To Your Grave' and not their later albums, this isn't the album for you.
However, if you enjoyed the later albums, ('From Under The Cork Tree'/'Infinity On High'), or you are indeed a general Fall Out Boy fan, then you will indeed enjoy this album.
Overall, a great album, with varying sounds and styles, and some great cameo appearances. :-)

Rakuten’s Play.com is an online trading platform which enables third party sellers and buyers to negotiate and complete transactions via its Website. Rakuten’s Play.com is neither the buyer nor the seller of any items sold via its Website. Accordingly, Rakuten’s Play.com is not a party to the contract for sale between a buyer and seller and is not responsible for fulfilling and delivering orders, handling returns or processing refunds for purchases made.

The relevant seller’s terms and conditions apply to delivery, refunds and returns of any items sold via Rakuten’s Play.com. If you have specific questions, about a sellers delivery policy, returns policy or the return or refund of an item you should contact the relevant seller directly. You must comply with the seller's return policy in order to be eligible for any possible refund from the seller.

Whilst we have no obligation to mediate or to enforce or execute fulfilment of any contract, we want you to have a safe shopping experience and may intervene in certain circumstances to resolve an issue, in line with our FairPlay Guarantee. Please see our User Agreement for details.

Important Warning: It is your responsibility to check a seller’s delivery and returns policy prior to confirming an order.