• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help



Corinne Bailey Rae

Released on 27 February 2006

Artist: Corinne Bailey Rae

(4 customer reviews)  |  Write a review

Condition:  Used - VeryGood

In stock Shipping now

£1.13 Free delivery

Earn 2 SuperPoints What are SuperPoints?

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 1st Sep - 3rd Sep

Comment:All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK

  1. Like A Star
  2. Enchantment
  3. Put Your Records On
  4. Till It Happens To You
  5. Trouble Sleeping
  6. Call Me When You Get This
  7. Choux Pastry Heart
  8. Breathless
  9. I'd Like To
  10. Butterfly
  11. Seasons Change
  • This is the eponymously-titled debut album from British blues-soul sensation, Corinne Bailey-Rae. Inspired by artists such as Billie Holiday and Jill Scott, this is a recording that displays a patchwork of influences, all held together wonderfully by Rae's unique vocal stylings. Includes the singles 'Like A Star' and 'Put Your Records On'.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (4 reviews)

 Flying The Flag For A New Generation Of British Soul and R&B

| | See all BurmasFinest's reviews (43)

Top 100  Reviewer Top 100 Music Reviewer Top 10 Electronics Reviewer

As I have found to be the case recently, the songs for which new artists become famous are rarely representative either of their abilities or of their album as a whole. I'm very pleased that this is the case with Corinne Bailey Rae, whose breakout hit 'Put Your Records On' received a lot of radio play, for it is indeed thankfully not representative of what is a truly excellent album. 'Put Your Records On' is unquestionably the most upbeat and commercial offering to be found on this album. Those who want more of the same are likely to be in for disappointment with this album. And I, for one, am glad!

With the exception of 'Put Your Records On', which I don't actually dislike, Corinne Bailey Rae has produced a truly stunning debut album with a really satisfying blend of some contemporary and traditional soul grooves. The album also hints at influences from Jazz and R&B (in the more traditional sense), the combination of which provide Corinne with a wonderfully rich and varied backdrop against which to show off her exceptional vocal talent. Often achieving a silky smoothness in her singing reminiscent of Norah Jones (which is no mean feat), Corinne Bailey Rae is at her absolute best on songs like 'Enchantment' (which is without equal on this and many other albums), 'Like A Star' and 'Till It Happens To You'.

This is by no means a one-dimensional, softly-softly album throughout though as evidenced by the up-tempo and extremely catchy 'I'd Like To' which is much more in step with traditional R&B than some of the aforementioned soul/jazz inspuired numbers. It sits more than comfortably in the same up-tempo bracket as 'Put Your Records On', 'Trouble Sleeping', and 'Call Me When You Get This'. From a personal taste point of view, with the exception of 'I'd Like To', I much prefer the slower, softer, and more mellow material on offer here. Whichever you prefer though, you surely won't be disappointed with this excellent offering from one of Britain's brightest up and coming stars.

 beautiful voice - so glad Corinne's back! Similar artist

| | See all mustard190's reviews (1)

I'm very happy Corinne's back. Her voice is stunning, really rich and sultry, of of those that make me shiver. Great songs too, she worked with writer Steve Bush. I've come across another UK artist who's working with him at the moment; they should get together and sing a duet! If you like Corinne it will be well worth looking Kelly Erez up... Glad Corinne's overcome everything she's been through, they say music is a healer and it's very true. Here's to UK talent!!

 Simply Superb.

| | See all JimmyChoo17's reviews (1)

I love this album you can sit and listen to it or its great background music and you never find a track you want to skip.

I loved her since I saw her on Jools Holland years ago and was glad to see she is finally back in the studio.


| | See all ALICAR's reviews (3)

Very good album just a shame about the 25 minute blank at the end and the difficulty in putting on an MP3 player, wouldn't buy another cd of hers no matter how good it is beacause of the above.