• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help



Radio Wars (2CD Hard Back Book Pack)

Released on 02 March 2009

Artist: Howling Bells

Write a review

Condition:  Used - Good

In stock Shipping now

£6.73 Free delivery

Earn 7 SuperPoints What are SuperPoints?

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 5th Feb - 9th Feb

Comment:In GOOD Condition. Ready for Shipping.

Disc 1

  1. Treasure Hunt
  2. Cities Burning Down
  3. It Ain't You
  4. Nightingale
  5. Let's Be Kids
  6. Ms. Bell's Song
  7. Radio Wars Theme
  8. Golden Web
  9. Into The Chaos
  10. Digital Hearts
  11. How Long

Disc 2

  1. Setting Sun
  2. Wishing Stone
  3. Cities Burning Down
  4. Treasure Hunt
  5. Nightingale
  6. Into The Chaos
  7. Radio Wars Theme

Play.com Review

Gritty indie-rockers Howling Bells have arrived in fabulous form with their second studio album, Radio Wars. Little less than three years since the release of their hauntingly beautiful and critically acclaimed self-titled debut, the Australian foursome have returned to kick up a storm with this sultry and sophisticated release. From the opening bars of 'Treasure Hunt' Radio Wars kicks off with a barrage of bass heavy melodies and gargantuan guitar riffs that erupt and strike with biting venom under clean and open soundscapes. Adding blissful contradictory tones to the pounding beats, lead singer Juanita Stein laces her distorted PJ Harvey-esque vocals with dreamy accuracy to give a sweet yet sour slant to the swampy epics of 'Lets Be Kids' and 'Cities Burning Down'. Overall Radio Wars has an increasingly slicker sound than that of their darker debut. The precise production of tracks such as 'It Aint You' and single 'Into The Chaos' has unleashed a brighter retro side to Howling Bells rough guitar rock style that bares resemblance to both '90s pioneers The Breeders and alternative giants R.E.M. By confidently experimenting with different techniques Howling Bells have delivered an accomplished album that will have established fans and those less familiar immediately hooked with its expansive indie-pop treasures.

customer Reviews

 Average rating (0 reviews)

Rate & Review

Be the first to review this product! | Write a review

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.