• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help



Please Please Me (Original Recording Remastered)

Released on 09 September 2009

Artist: The Beatles

(3 customer reviews)  |  Write a review

Condition:  New

In stock Shipping now

£8.39 Free delivery

Earn 9 SuperPoints What are SuperPoints?

Available Delivery Options

  • Standard delivery estimate: 6th Oct - 10th Oct

Comment:Brand New Product! Average delivery time 10-14 business days. Great, multilingual customer service.

  1. I Saw Her Standing There
  2. Misery
  3. Anna (Go To Him)
  4. Chains
  5. Boys
  6. Ask Me Why
  7. Please Please Me
  8. Love Me Do
  9. PS I Love You
  10. Baby It's You
  11. Do You Want To Know A Secret
  12. A Taste Of Honey
  13. There's A Place
  14. Twist And Shout
  15. Mini-Documentary
  • voucher

customer Reviews

 Average rating (3 reviews)

 Superb but sounds strange on headphones to the modern ear

| | See all JonnyPix's reviews (16)

The cd itself is awesome. I'd put it up there with Rubber Soul, (probably my favourite) and the White Album, possibly pipping Revolver. As well as being a great Beatles album the sounds are very evocative of that period in time with the harmonies and chord structures used.

However the cd was orginially recorded on mono as stereo was in its infancy at the time. I have no problems with this as it's an authentic replication and sounds fine on my stereo but if I listen to 'Twist and Shout' or 'Please, Please Me' cranked up loud on the headphones it sounds slightly strange to my ears with the vocals just being on the one channel and having heard a stereo mix where the vocals were centralised.

However other than that though the cd is great. 'Anna' and a 'Taste of Honey' (not actually wrote by the Beatles) are currently buzzing around my head whilst 'Please, Please Me' and 'Twist and Shout' showcase Lennons vocals at their visceral and primal best.

 The start of a fantasy

| | See all simonsaid's reviews (8)

This is a real masterpiece with many immortal rock performances, e.g. I Saw Her Standing There, Boys and Twist and Shout. The band really put their soul into these songs; just listen to Ringo screaming "Boooyyys!!!", or John giving everything in Twist and Shout. The remastered sound is crisp and clear, wonderful job done.

 Good crystal clear sound fresh as the day it was recorded

| | See all ListenuppeopleOK's reviews (4)

I have only had the CD for a week and I can only commend the restoration work that George Martin and co have put into this. The CD comes in a cardboard sleeve which replicates the original album release.The booklet inside includes original photos of the lads taken at the time as well as Tony Barrows original 1963 cover notes.The recording notes added by George Martin and the principal engineer Norman Smith give details of how this album was recorded on 11th February 1963.Quote from George Martin "In just nine and three quarter hours and using seven half-hour reels of tape they completed eleven titles". Awesome talent and awesome sound that sets a standard that todays recording artists will find hard to beat. So crank up your amp and Twist and Shout!!!