• Hello,Welcome to Play.com.  . (Not youSign in?) | Register
  • 0 SuperPoints
  • Your Account
  • Help


Cosmos: Collector's Edition Box Set (7 Discs)

Cosmos: Collector's Edition Box Set (7 Discs)

Released on 22 October 2002

Format: DVD | Rating: Exempt from classification

Condition:  New

In stockShipping now

£46.42 Free delivery

Earn 47 SuperPoints What are SuperPoints?

Available Delivery Options (find out more)

  • Standard delivery estimate: 16th Mar - 20th Mar

Comment: Dispatched from the United States via International Priority Mail arrives in about 5 to 14 business days.

When Cosmos was first broadcast in 1980, our world - and the context of Carl Sagan's eloquent "personal journey"- was a different place. The late Dr. Sagan would be pleased to witness the cooling of the cold war, the continued exploration of space, and ongoing efforts to curb our destructive dependence on fossil fuels. For Sagan's series is far more than a guided tour through "billions and billions" of stars and galaxies. It remains a profound plea for the unity of humankind, for the recognition that "we are a way for the universe to know itself," with an obligation to know our origin, our place in the universe, and our future potential. In the course of 13 fascinating hours, Cosmos spans its own galaxy of topics to serve Sagan's theme, each segment deepening our understanding of how we got from there (simple microbes in the primordial mud) to here (space-faring civilization in the 21st century). In his `ship of the imagination, Sagan guides us to the farthest reaches of space and takes us back into the history of scientific inquiry, from the ancient library of Alexandria to the NASA probes of our neighboring planets. Upon this vast canvas Sagan presents the `cosmic calendar, placing the 15-billion-year history of the universe into an accessible one-year framework, then filling it with a stunning chronology of events, both interstellar and earthbound. From the lives of the stars, to creation theories, functions of the human brain, and the ongoing search for extraterrestrial intelligence, Cosmos asks big questions. When appropriate, Sagan offers big answers, or asks still bigger - and yes, even spiritual -questions at the boundaries of science and religion. What's most remarkable about Cosmos is that it remains almost entirely fresh, with few updates needed to the science that Sagan so passionately celebrates. It is no exaggeration to say that Cosmos - for all the debate it may continue to provoke - is a vital document for humanity at a pivotal crossroads of our history. Episodes Comprise: 1. The Shores Of the Cosmos 2. One Voice In the Cosmic Fugue 3. The Harmony Of the Worlds 4. Heaven and Hell 5. Blues For A Red Planet 6. Travellers' Tales 7. The Backbone of Night 8. Travels In Space and Time 9. The Lives Of the Stars 10. The Edge Of Forever 11. The Persistence Of Memory 12. Encyclopedia Galactica 13. Who Speaks For Earth?
  • Carl Sagan and Ann Druyan Updates
  • Subtitle Science Updates
  • New Footage
  • Region 0
actorCarl Sagan
certificateExempt from classification
duration13 hours
subtitlesEnglish ; Spanish ; French ; Japanese ; Italian ; German ; Mandarin